Managing your contacts
As of today, we have new ways of exporting and deleting contacts. Some of these changes are to help you get ready for the GDPR, whilst some are to make managing your contacts easier and build on the new contact editor we launched earlier in the year.
Previously, deleting a contact would hide her in your account. You couldn’t get her back unless you re-added her, at which point we’d resurrect the data you’d previously held on her.
But now, when you delete a contact, she’ll go into the recycle bin (previously called ‘Utilities’). She’ll stay there for 30 days, and you can undelete her at any time.
After 30 days, she’ll be removed permanently along with all her information held in contact data fields and Insight data.
If you want to, you can permanently delete her before the 30 days are up directly from the recycle bin.
This means you can now use the delete tool to comply with GDPR (or other) data deletion requests.
Additionally, we’ve made it possible to delete a contact from the contact editor, rather than just from the contact listing page – which should make things just a little bit simpler.
Deleting suppressed contacts
A suppressed contact is one you can’t email (maybe because she unsubscribed, your previous emails to her have bounced, or another one of a handful of reasons).
When a contact becomes suppressed, we don’t remove the data you’ve collected on her; if she was to become unsuppressed, her old data would be viewable again too.
However, we now offer the option of deleting a suppressed user.
This means you can comply with ‘right to be forgotten’ or similar regulatory requests.
But deleting a suppressed contact differs in one crucial way to deleting a normal contact: we won’t delete the email address. This is so we can continue to keep her suppressed, and so you don’t unintentionally email her in the future (by accidentally re-importing the contact to your account, for example).
Up until now, exporting a contact meant exporting an address book they were in. This would give you the data held in your data fields (along with that of every other contact in the address book – which probably wasn’t what you wanted).
Exporting a contact is now easier and more complete. You can export an individual contact from the contact editor, and exports now additionally contain all Insight data you hold for them. This means that when you export a contact, you’ll now get a zip file with everything from the Email area of dotmailer – which will also be in a usable format for GDPR ‘Subject Access Requests’, should you need to fulfil one.
Note that if you have data held in the other areas of dotmailer (surveys and forms, SMS or transactional email) you’ll still have to export that separately.
Individual contact exports will also be kept for seven days in your export area, just like bulk exports.
More on the GDPR
Whether you’re in the midst of preparing for the GDPR, or if you’re yet to start, we have lots of articles to help you get ready. Check them all out here.